LDSB School Year Calendar Approved

LDSB School Year Calendar Approved
Posted on 06/14/2021

he Ministry of Education has approved the Limestone District School Board’s 2021-2022 School Year Calendar.

The approved calendar allows for a traditional start for students following Labour Day. The first day of school for students will be Tuesday, September 7, 2021. Staff will begin the school year with a Professional Activity (PA) Day on Friday, September 3, 2021.

Every school year must include a minimum of 194 school days including seven PA Days and 187 instructional days. Each semester is equally divided into 97 days. 

Provincial Regulation 304: School Year Calendar requires the following school holidays:

  • Every Saturday and Sunday
  • Labour Day – Monday, September 6, 2021
  • Thanksgiving Day – Monday, October 11, 2021
  • 14 consecutive days for December Break – December 20, 2021 to January 2, 2022
  • Family Day – Monday, February 21, 2022
  • 5 consecutive days for March Break – March 14 to March 18, 2022 inclusive
  • Good Friday – Friday, April 15, 2022
  • Easter Monday – Monday, April 18, 2022
  • Victoria Day – Monday, May 23, 2022

Additionally, there are seven Professional Activity (PA) Days throughout the year.

  • Friday, September 3, 2021
  • Friday, October 1, 2021
  • Monday, November 1, 2021
  • Wednesday, February 2, 2022 (semester 2 turnaround day)
  • Friday, April 29, 2022
  • Friday, June 3, 202
  • Thursday, June 30, 2022

Families, caregivers, students, staff, unions and federations, and community partners were invited to provide feedback on the calendar through an online survey. Both the Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board and Algonquin Lakeshore Catholic District School Board will follow the same school-year calendar due to shared transportation.